K is for Kerfuffle

Standard

kerfuffle.jpgThe other day I was struggling to come up with a word that began with K that really resonated with me.  Then, I had a client in my chair and she told me she had a “kerfuffle”.  I said “a ker WHAT?”  “A kerfuffle, you know, a problem!” she exclaimed.  I had never heard this word before, but I loved it.  She then went on to tell me of the kerfuffle and how it was looming and how bad it was going to be if things didn’t work out as they needed that day.  I asked her to text me and let me know how it played out and within an hour of her leaving the salon everything was fine, the kerfuffle had vanished, all the tension was for naught.

How many times do you imagine huge kerfuffles about to happen to have none of them actually materialize?  I know I am the queen of this!  I forget who it is that said something like I had many problems (or fears) in my life most which never happened.  How true is that for you?  Usually the kerfuffles are in our head, or at least become much bigger in our heads than need be.

Kerfuffle sounds like a word from a child hood show to me, that had the snuffleupagus on it!! Do you remember him?  I do!  Yes, I am showing my age here, but to make a point.  I am trying to look at all my “problems” now as “kerfuffles”.. then envision them to be a snuffleupagus,, and really is that so scary?  Not anymore..SO when I realize I am creating kerfuffles that look like a snuffleupagus I am spending way to much time in my head and not in the present moment.  In the present moment nothing is that bad and or I can take a direct action towards fixing whatever the issue may be and just do my best.. be friend the kerfuffle..

What is your kerfuffle today?  Where can you see that you might be making something much bigger than it needs to be? OR what is one step you can take to knock it down a bit and come in to the present and out of your head??

About livingfrombalance

I am someone who strives daily for balance in her life. I believe in living a wholistic moderate way. I love eating well, yoga, good wine, books, laughing...the list goes on. I want to share with who ever will listen the knowledge I have collected thru the years my journey with balance!

4 responses »

  1. i am giggling right now! love this thought I am going to start using that word for problems…..it makes them seem less serious!

Leave a Reply

