balanced and quick dinner

Standard

Sometimes , especially those of us that work, have kids, etc.. life is way to hectic to have time to create a gourmet dinner.  When those times hit I go to my fail safe, super easy, nutrious and delicious meal..  Roasted Vegetables.  This is easy as you can use what ever vegetables you have or are in season.  The combinations are endless!  It is a great side dish, main dish, leftover.. whatever!  It helps to balance a crazy day with something warm and nutritious at the end of it.

Lately I have been into:

1 sweet potato

1 eggplant

1 red pepper

1 red onion

cauliflower

broccoli

cabbage

spinach.

I take the first 6 ingredients.. wash and chop them accordingly.  Preheat the oven to 400.  I toss them lightly with a drizzle of olive oil, herbs de provence, salt and pepper..

Cook them to your liking.  I tend to like them over cooked.  Keep checking and stirring if needed.  WHen they are close to where you want them, throw the cabbabe and spinach on top.  I then drizzle balsamic vinegar over the whole thing and give it another nice toss.  

When they are where I like them …(pretty well done) I take out of the oven and let it sit after crumbling feta cheese over the whole thing and stirring again.

Sometimes I will throw black beans in and use salsa instead of the balsamic and made a mexican type of dish and add cheddar instead of feta..

do any of you have a delicious roasted veggie dish to share?

About livingfrombalance

I am someone who strives daily for balance in her life. I believe in living a wholistic moderate way. I love eating well, yoga, good wine, books, laughing...the list goes on. I want to share with who ever will listen the knowledge I have collected thru the years my journey with balance!

One response »

Leave a Reply

