nature brings balance

Standard

One of the things that balances me most is nature.  I feel the world has gotten so busy and loud.  When I can get out into the woods,, or hike to the top of a hill and hear how silent it is.. balance washes over me.

This morning I got up and much to my chagrin we had gotten 4 more inches of snow!  That is on top of the 8 we got on Friday.  I decided instead of grumbling about it I would take advantage.  So I loaded Sawyer (my chocolate lab) and my snow shoes into my car and off we went.  We drove over to the golf course in town.  Sawyer, who never makes a sound, started wimpering in the car as he figured out where we were headed.  He loves this because normally he is on a leash when we run every day.  On the golf course he gets to just RUN.

So we get there, I pop on my snow shoes

P1000384-600x450.jpg

And off we went!!  If we do the back perimeter of the course it is great.. Follows along the woods, no houses no other beings.. just me and my dog!  It is so pretty and quiet back there.  Being there early, we were the first ones of the day I imagine.  My favorite spot is at the top of a hill in the back corner… The light is so beautiful and you hear nothing.  Especially after a fresh snow.  Complete silence..  To be out in nature is such a balancing act.  To have your feet on the earth, to be amongst the trees and natural air.  To have nothing coming at you.. you are just there, one with it really.  To watch my dog just barrel down the course full tilt, ears flying.. makes me see what is truly important.. this very moment.  I breathe deeply and smile.

I always leave my outdoor treks in a completely different state of mind than when I started.  When Sawyer and I got back to the car my brain was refreshed, my energy balanced, ready to tackle the day.  Sawyer was ready for a bowl of water and a nap!  What type of things do you do out in nature?

About livingfrombalance

I am someone who strives daily for balance in her life. I believe in living a wholistic moderate way. I love eating well, yoga, good wine, books, laughing...the list goes on. I want to share with who ever will listen the knowledge I have collected thru the years my journey with balance!

2 responses »

  1. Living in NYC I don’t have the access to the same beautiful nature that you described in your post. When I am walking outside I enjoy what few trees, squirrels, pigeons, and rats there are to see. Finding the beauty and balance within a concrete jungle can be a challenge at times, but it very possible when you open your mind and eyes to the subtle beauty of the buildings, sky, parks, and those few moments of silence in the morning when there are limited to no people out and about yet.
    I love the pictures! Your dog is so gorgeous!

  2. oh i do wish we lived near eachother! when i lived in the snow from my 20’s to just 3 years ago i loved to snowshoe with pepsi and my old rottie. it was one of my favorite activites to do. so easy and such a good workout. i am like you and love to connect to nature. it puts me at peace. i think i miss the mountains quite a bit but life is good at the ocean too 🙂 let’s go snowshoeing together!

Leave a Reply

