Hot…Sweaty….. yoga….

Standard

Did I have you at hot and sweaty??  I hope so!  There is nothing more balancing to me than yoga.  Between the breath work and the holding of postures..when I leave a class any tension that was in my body previously has dissipated.  My new found love is heated yoga.  I found Bikram yoga a few years back and loved it for awhile, but then realized it was to hot for me .. to regimented.  I found myself watching the clock.. when I start hearing “how much longer” in my head, I know something is not for me.

In November, I signed up for a teacher training of sorts.  An 80 hr. training over the course of many weekends, that will be finishing up soon.  I was a bit intimidated as I knew again, it was heated, and a form of power yoga which I had not done up till now.  Could I, being someone who does not do well in the humidity be able to handle a vigorous, flowing class that was also.. heated?

Let me tell you, they had me at “let’s begin in downdog”… before I know it each class is almost over!  For one thing, this style, or the classes I have attended are not at the temperature of Bikram.  They are more like 80 – 95 degrees, which is still quite warm.  Another thing I love is the flow..you lose yourself in it.  It is never exactly the same so you are not 100% sure what to expect next.. which for me, keeps me in the moment.  The BEST part I have discovered is when I do start to feel to hot and get all up in my head about the heat and how I don’t like it, or holding a pose for to long.. I am able to think of all the sweatiness, the shaking of muscles as anything negative being purged from my body.. any doubts, fears, judgements.. just dripping off me to my mat below..(thank god for towels!!) That thought enables me to come back into the room and breathe and want the sweat and shakes even more!

Each time when the class is over.. I feel giddy, high… happy.. balanced.  I saw this line advertised for an acupuncture share, but I think it envelopes how I feel after my power yoga class.. “happy hour (and a half) without the hangover”…

If you are new to yoga, or not sure if it is for you, there are sooo many styles to try!!  Don’t give up, you may not have found your match yet.  Be willing to experiment.. you never know when something will click!

I would love to hear others experiences with any style of yoga!!

About livingfrombalance

I am someone who strives daily for balance in her life. I believe in living a wholistic moderate way. I love eating well, yoga, good wine, books, laughing...the list goes on. I want to share with who ever will listen the knowledge I have collected thru the years my journey with balance!

Leave a Reply

