brown rice salad

Standard

rice-salad-glass-bowl

This is my latest obsession.  You know how you get on a roll for weeks with a particular food and then BAM, done!,, never make again!  I am on the roll part with this .. hopefully I don’t get to the BAM, done etc part!

4 cups of cooked brown rice (I love to swing to the closest asian restaurant and get mine as they make the BEST steamed brown rice there is!)

1 red bell pepper diced

1 carrot grated on the thicker side

2 scallions sliced

1 cup fresh or frozen peas

1/2 cup seeded cucumber diced.

1/4 c toasted nuts (cashews, almonds, walnut,peanut)

1/4 cup toasted seeds (pumpkin, sunflower, sesame)

1/2 cup feta cheese

1/4 cup blend of spices, my favorite herbs de provence

mix the above together in a bowl, stir till blended.

dress with:

( I am not a measurer of dressings, so these are approximates,, do to your liking)

3Tbl. extra virgin olive oil

4Tbl. fresh squeezed lemon juice

1Tbl. dijon mustard

salt and pepper

Whisk these together first in a small bowl.  Then drizzle and toss over the salad.

enjoy!

About livingfrombalance

I am someone who strives daily for balance in her life. I believe in living a wholistic moderate way. I love eating well, yoga, good wine, books, laughing...the list goes on. I want to share with who ever will listen the knowledge I have collected thru the years my journey with balance!

7 responses »

  1. I LOVE salad ideas- especially when they include more than just greens. Thanks so much for sharing- hey, do you think the salad would lose it’s “punch” without the nuts? I’ve got a nut-free husband. (Although, I’d venture to say he’s only nut-free because he’s already nutty!… wow, lame joke.) Thanks again for sharing. 🙂

    • I have never made it without the nuts, just because I love them ..(being a bit nutty myself:)) I say, throw nuts on your portion and maybe extra seeds for him or just the extra seeds all the way around, or different type of seed etc? Thats why I love this salad.. super versatile. I also, to make it more of a meal, will cook up a black bean burger and cut it up and throw it in to bring for work. Delish!
      thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

