feel the fear….

Standard

“Fear is faith in the negative”   “Trust is faith in the positive”

How many times have you let fear stop you in your tracks?

How many times has it frozen you , like a deer in head lights?

How many opportunities have you missed because you were afraid..of failing, rejection, making a mistake?

I can’t even count how many times I have let fear rule.  Then I realized (or am realizing..slowly.. with baby steps) That fear will ALWAYS be present.  It is a sign that we are alive and growing!  We have a choice how we respond to the fear.. here in lies the opportunity for growth.  Fear is usually a sign that we are stepping out of our comfort zone.  That safe warm place, where we might not be so enthusiastic, but hey, we know what to expect!

I have recently realized that by saying no, or not trying something,  I think I am protecting myself from failing, messing up, being rejected.  What I am REALLY doing, however,  is saying NO to myself!  I am rejecting myself and my chances before I have even tried.  If we TRY something we have a much higher chance of getting it right, being accepted and doing well than if we don’t!  When we don’t try we have a zero percent chance.   Hiding from you fears will get you exactly NO WHERE.

I recently completed a yoga teacher training.  Anyone that knows me knows I am DEATHLY afraid of public speaking type of things.  I really wanted to do it just to learn more about yoga ( my fear of being in front of others keeps me from committing to actually teaching) .  Well, little did I know what I was getting myself into!  These two teachers had us getting up in front of each other from day one!  At first it wasn’t so bad,, just one on one.. then one in front of 5.  Then the day came when they said we had to get up in front of the whole group (24 people) to teach a pose.  I thought I was going to throw up!  The whole time my mind was racing, scrambling on how to sneak out of the room so I wouldn’t have to do it.  I was convinced my brain would freeze and I would forget how to do it.  Then they called my name…stomach churning, face flushed, I got right up there, did what I had to do and it was over in about 30 seconds!  Walking back to my mat I felt giddy!  I couldn’t believe I had done it!  This fear that has ruled me for 40 years.. I stood up to it.. looked it in the eye and won!

Now if I had done my old routine, of sneaking out of the room, saying I had to leave, what ever, what would have happened?  Nothing.. exactly nothing.  I would have saved myself from the adrenaline rush of fear but I would have also rejected myself and missed this tiny opportunity to grow.. stretch..fly.  I am not saying I am over my fear,, but each time they pushed us up in front of the room, we learned (I wasn’t the only one full of fear) that we CAN do it.. but only if we try.  As I said before, hiding from your fear will never get you anywhere.  You must decide to become a participant in life!  Even if you do fail or get rejected, you still win because your TRIED!  You will have learned so much.  Letting fear rule keeps you small.  We are here to live LARGE!  As a wise friend once told me:

Leap open handed into the void !  Similar to the saying Leap and the net will appear.  All we can do is try.  We will never know until we do.  So take that step, spread your wings, walk to the edge.. learn to fly.

I would love to hear times you might have pushed past your fear and how it felt to do so!

About livingfrombalance

I am someone who strives daily for balance in her life. I believe in living a wholistic moderate way. I love eating well, yoga, good wine, books, laughing...the list goes on. I want to share with who ever will listen the knowledge I have collected thru the years my journey with balance!

One response »

  1. oh i am so proud of you! yay for getting way out of your comfort zone. by taking my new job i was scared and way out of my level of comfort. i agree sometimes you have to jump in with both feet 🙂

Leave a Reply

