priorities…

Standard

It has been a while since I last posted.  A lot has gone one in that time.  I took my girls to Boston for a shopping, hang out with mom trip.  We had a blast.  They tore up and down Newbury street in search of the best deals out there.  I believe we succeeded!

When we got home it was the end of a long day, week, stretch of time.  I was wiped out, ready for some quiet.  They were not.  One of them insisted on me making dinner.  I was trying to do laundary, put things away, water the plants etc.  I suggested she make her own dinner,. she is 13 after all.   She, insisted that I make it.  I, whining, that I haven’t sat down since we got in, haven’t even watered the plants yet.  She, suggests that she waters the plants and I make dinner.  Finely I, seeing there is something about me making the dinner that she needs, say “fine, you water the plants, I will make dinner”.   She sets off happily to water the plants and I start the french toast (never said it was going to be gourmet!).

As the butter is melting in the pan, I keep hearing water running, I turn around but don’t see anything.  Go back to the butter, hear it again, look and realize she has over watered a plant directly over my open mac notebook and it is now pouring on to that.  To say I freaked out is to put it mildly.  I do not even remember what I was yelling, but I know it was not good.  She ran over trying to help and apologize, I told her to go away.  She ran off crying.   I stayed to assess the damage.  Things seemed okay.  I was able to calm down.  I called her back apologized for what I still don’t remember I said and things appeared normal.

That night as I lay in bed the things I said came flooding back.  I felt sick to my stomach.  Here was my sweet girl, trying to help me out, wanting me to make dinner and a mistake was made.  I acted like she burned down the house.  It is a computer.  Yes, an expensive one, but a computer that if need be is replaceable.  She, my sweet daughter is not.  The computer seemed fine, what I said at the time did not.

The next morning, the computer was not fine.  Three days later, I still don’t know if it will be.  I however am forever changed by my initial reaction that day.  When she came down that morning to find out it is indeed broken she started crying and trembling.  I grabbed her face and told her it was a mistake, it truly doesn’t matter.  It is an object, a computer, an item that can be replaced or thrown away.. she, my funny, dorky, little 13 year old is not and that means more to me than anything.

I am in awe of my reaction, (not my initial one…that will cause me shame for awhile)  but the one I came to later.  I still am quit calm knowing, that it is an inanimate object.  Something that we as society are placing way to much value on these days.  It made me see where my priorities truly should and do lie.

For that I am eternally grateful to my 13 year old and the “mistake” of that day.

Have you had any lessons of late that help you realize where your true priorities lie???

About livingfrombalance

I am someone who strives daily for balance in her life. I believe in living a wholistic moderate way. I love eating well, yoga, good wine, books, laughing...the list goes on. I want to share with who ever will listen the knowledge I have collected thru the years my journey with balance!

2 responses »

  1. oh girl……we all have moments like that. i screamed bloody murder when a teenage girl ran into my car last summer. very embarrassing and made me think. i am sure this is way more traumatic that it is your own daughter too. Just because we are older does not mean with know better 😉

  2. Great post. I think we all have done that (to our children). The point is, what is done can not be changed. But when we learn from it, we can change how we react and along the way we heal both our own shame and the guilt of the receiver. Some learning experiences are truly horrid!

Leave a Reply

