foodie blog recommendation

Standard

cherry vanilla power bars gluten-free recipe

Food,  I LOVE food… I LIVE for food.  For the first 10 years of my life I thought nothing of that.  Then for the past 34 I deemed that as B-A-D.  Being a female in America, most of us know that to much food = fat= B-A-D. Especially if you are one that battles easy weight gain!   Well, in the past few weeks I have done a lot to change that view of mine.  I have been doing a sort of cleansing for two weeks now.  I have been eating small amounts, of super healthy food.  I feel so much better, leaner, healthier.  The obsession for food though, has grown ever stronger, deeper.

Because I have had limited to zero carbs, or sugar ,, it seems to be what I think about most.  Oh, how I would LOVE a piece of crusty whole grain bread, slathered in butter, or some delicious baked treat.   Mmmmm I am drooling just writing this!  This past weekend, I have decided to accept the fact that I LOVE food.  I have decided that I am going to turn this internet thing upside down to find the worlds best and healthiest recipes for the foods I love the most and not have anything be off limits!   I have 1 more week on my cleanse and then I am going to slowly reintroduce foods that have been missing and see how they affect my body.  RIght now I am thinking there maybe a tinge of gluten intolerance.  SO.. this has all been a round about way to tell you about my blog recommendation of the week!

WWW.Elanaspantry.com

Elana is a gluten free chic.  She has dedicated herself to making the healthy yet delicious alternatives for her family and then sharing the recipes with us!   The best part is, she has a page devoted to telling you the specific ingredients you will need to make her recipes.  Really not to big or overwhelming, she is making me excited to try this new way of living!

Now, I have yet to make anything from this site, but I have a feeling by reading the recipes they are amazing.  I just recently found her and next week, when I am off the cleanse I will start experimenting with her stuff!   There are so many recipes, I don’t know where I will begin, but this one looks like it will be at the top of my list:

Cherry Vanilla Power Bars (pictured above)

  1. Place almonds, flax, cherries, cranberries and stevia in food processor
  2. Pulse until well ground, then pulse in water until the mixture begins to form a ball
  3. Remove from food processor and press into an 8×8 inch pyrex dish
  4. Slice into bars and serve

Makes 12 bars

I mean seriously,,, how good do those sound and easy???

Let me know if you try any of her recipes and what you like!!  I can’t wait to get on it!


6 responses »

  1. these do look so good! love how you are learning how to eat and still enjoy food. it is such a hard balance……check out our balls on our site too….they are amazing 🙂

  2. I’ve run across Elana’s Pantry before. I love her recipes.
    I don’t have gluten issues, mine are ALL SUGAR baby!

    sigh.

    I was drooling over your drooling for baked goods. I’m a total sugar and carboholic. sadly.

    I like where you are at. there HAS to be a way to live, love, and EAT happily.

    and those bars DO sound amazing.

    Have a great day!

    • I too have the sugar and carb thing as well!!! I C R A V E a good chocolate chip cookie daily… not good for the muffin top let me tell you!!
      I am determined to hunt down the best recipes for all this amazing things that we have to “censor'” and share them when I do!!

Leave a Reply

