balance is like the turtle…

Standard


My good friend Kalli from fitandfortysomething.com, reminded me yesterday of the fact that most things worth having in life come when you go at it slow and steady.  Like the turtle and the hare… Slow and steady win the race!

I was moaning to her that my weight loss had stalled to a nonexistent level.  SO I had gone downstairs just to “get myself back for that” and inhaled 8 famous amos cookies and some m and m’s!!  Boy, did I show me!!  After those 10 minutes of rebellion, I was physically ill from the sugar rush and mentally ill from having set myself back!

Kalli said :

“It is tough for me too but you need to look at what you are doing as a way of life…feeding yourself better, a test of strength (do you want food to control you?), and that this is a marathon  of sorts not a sprint.  The hcg is just the warm up and what you do when you are done is the marathon part.. ”

WOW!!!  Here I was thinking (seriously) that the weight would just drop off and I could go back to my old ways of being.   WHen the weight didn’t just drop off I punished myself, with food (letting it control me) and kept myself stuck.  HUGE eye opener!!  Since then, I have not had ANY craving for the “bad” stuff.  I know what triggers my “shenpa” (whole other post!) or hook, and today, I can see that and make another choice.

Today, I choose to be slow and steady with my gaze forward on the journey of the marathon.. not sprinting towards a nonexistent finish line!  This is a new way of life I am CHOOSING.   I am in control..I choose health and balance..

have a great day

the turtle:)

About livingfrombalance

I am someone who strives daily for balance in her life. I believe in living a wholistic moderate way. I love eating well, yoga, good wine, books, laughing...the list goes on. I want to share with who ever will listen the knowledge I have collected thru the years my journey with balance!

3 responses »

  1. i love this! and i said in my email i acutally needed to hear it today too. tough last two days and to say i don’t want wine tonight is an understatement but i am thinking of health in the long run…….
    have a great weekend my friend!

  2. WOW was this timely.

    Just following a great week of seeing visible signs of eating no sugar and constant exercise…but the scale is one ounce off , one ounce ON.

    and I am getting discouraged.

    both of you made my day. I know it in my head, but my heart is just tired of things not happening when I am trying so freaking hard!

    Thanks to you both!
    xo

    • I TOTALLY know where you are at. I just completed 23 days of the HCG diet and only lost 5-6 of my real pounds.. most people usually lose at least 15! I am going to be proud that I accomplished what I did and move on!!
      keep you goal on the fitness, not the number!!

Leave a Reply

