QUINOA! with spinach, tomato and mozzarella

Standard


Quinoa (pronounced “keenwah”) is nothing short of a super food.  It has complete proteins in it and is quite versatile.  You could make it as a porridge in the a.m., a side salad to go with any dish, or a one dish meal with every thing served together.  That is my favorite ways of enjoying the mighty Q.

Here is a recipe I  am most loving now.

Quinoa,spinach, tomato and mozzarella salad

1. 1 cup of Quinoa rinse throughly under water in a pot and then drain.  This will remove the toxic residue off the outershell.

2.Put Q in a 1/2qt saucepan and add 2 cups of water; bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer(you can add 1Tbls. of EVOO and a dash of qood quality salt)

cover and cook until all the water is absorbed, (10-15 min).  When it is cooked, the grain appears to be translucent and the germ ring is visible. This will yield 4  cups.

3. In a large bowl add freshly washed spinach, pour the hot quinoa on top and stir together.  This will blanch the spinach.  Add your tomatoes and shredded mozzeralla, stir

4. On the side, make a mix of evvo, lemon juice, maple syrup, Braggs liquid amino acid and pepper,  whisk together, pour over the salad and enjoy!

some variations I might do on this.  Add black beans for more protein, or hot of grill chicken.  I would also try chicken and feta cheese instead?

let me know your favorite quinoa recipe!

About livingfrombalance

I am someone who strives daily for balance in her life. I believe in living a wholistic moderate way. I love eating well, yoga, good wine, books, laughing...the list goes on. I want to share with who ever will listen the knowledge I have collected thru the years my journey with balance!

4 responses »

  1. oh i love quinoa. I am going to have to make your recipe.

    my friend Shari made an Indian Spiced Quinoa dish last year and to date it’s my favorite dish.

    I mostly add quinoa to dishes as I am simmering them for some added protein!

    Have a great day!

  2. One of my favorite Quinoa recipes is your Sweet Potato Black Bean(with Quinoa) Stew. This one sounds great also, thanks. I also have a summer black bean quinoa salad recipe that is great.

Leave a Reply

