The guest house

Standard

Do you ever go thru periods of time where you are in a “funk” ?  Not only do I, but I have been in one for almost two weeks now.  Started out as PMS.  Then I had a massage where the person did extreme work on my stomach area.  I have NEVER had that done before, and am not sure I would again.  It stirred stuff up for me that has been super uncomfortable.  The stomach is where we hold old emotional baggage.  Man, did I have alot!  I have been judging myself for all this “stuff” for a few days now and at my ineptitude at dealing with it after all the work I have done.  Then this poem came across my desk.  This is one of my ALL TIME FAVORITES by Rumi.   Basically telling us to not berate or judge ourselves for our feelings and emotions.  To welcome them in to our home as a guest.  To not “take them on” is to not make them a part of who we are.  This is much better for us physically, spiritually.

I have posted this before so if you have seen this on my site previously, please excuse, but I think it is worth a reprint!

THE GUEST HOUSE

This being human is a guest house.
Every morning a new arrival.

A joy, a depression, a meanness,
some momentary awareness comes
as an unexpected visitor.

Welcome and entertain them all!
Even if they are a crowd of sorrows,
who violently sweep your house
empty of its furniture,
still, treat each guest honorably.
He may be clearing you out
for some new delight.

The dark thought, the shame, the malice.
meet them at the door laughing and invite them in.

Be grateful for whatever comes.
because each has been sent
as a guide from beyond.

— Jelaluddin Rumi,
translation by Coleman Barks

About livingfrombalance

I am someone who strives daily for balance in her life. I believe in living a wholistic moderate way. I love eating well, yoga, good wine, books, laughing...the list goes on. I want to share with who ever will listen the knowledge I have collected thru the years my journey with balance!

3 responses »

  1. I go thru this so SO often.

    I had a emotionally turbulent chilhood, a non-existant adolescence and a rough first round of adulthood.

    to say I have had my baggage to deal with is an understatement.

    I love this. I am not sure I completely “get it”..so I am going to spend some time digesting it.

    and as far as your email and post about meditation…I have never had anyone put it quite like you did and it REALLY helped make it click.

    I actually lit candles and sat quietly (with my toddler mind you) and we both just sat.

    my son is very easily tweaked by over stimulation and I knew from birth he would need to learn to temper his own emotions and learn to deal with those around him (like his Mom).

    I hope he “gets it” long before he hits his adult life.

    I hate reliving bad emotions and bad memories and shame and guilt (a lot of that was handed to me and not my own as it were) so I am really good at shoving it deep and locking it up.

    it’s a lot of work, no?

    and “this too shall pass”.

    I have never heard of a massage in your stomach area before.
    Be well and have a great week’s end!
    xo

  2. Pingback: a little ray of sunshine « A Sparkle A Day

Leave a Reply

