Stepping out a da box!

Standard

 

So, it has been awhile since my last post!  I apologize for the delay.  Life got busy.. then I ran away.. to Nantucket!!   Seriously, the build up of real life leading into a vacation always blows my mind.  Sometimes I wonder, why take the vacation if this is what is going to happen before hand!  Although, now that I am on day 6 of an extremely sunny warm trip to my favorite island I remember exactly what vacations are all about… BALANCE! 

I had let life take over for the past few months.  It was feeling stagnant, dull, status quo.  I couldn’t really see why I felt so blah.. until now, I have stepped back, gained some perspective.  My friend Kalli at fitandfortysomething has been posting about having an enjoyment list.  I totally get it now.  When you let it, life has a way of taking over and becoming all about getting it all done.  Then you go to bed (or collapse into) so you can sleep and wake up and…… do it all again the  next day!   That was me for the past few months.  I had become very regimented, scheduled, militant??!  Ew,, don’t like that word!

I have decided that everyday, I need to step out of the box.  Even if it is a baby step.  Drive a different way to work, order ice coffee instead of hot, try pilates instead of yoga?   There are so many little tweaks we can make in our day to make it an adventure!  If we open our eyes and look for where we can turn left instead of right, order chocolate instead of vanilla, there is a whole world of possibility out there each and everyday!!  Literally, my boyfriend and I went to the beach yesterday and he said “which way?” as we got to the sand.. I ALWAYS go right.. so  I said “LEFT!”  sounds funny, but it felt strange!!!  I don’t know why I always go to the right, and maybe I will still always go right, but that day I broke my mold and went left. 

Tomorrow I am going to try paddle boarding.  This is when people are standing on surf boards with a long paddle cruising around the ocean.   Supposed to be a great core workout.  Normally I would either run, walk and or go to a yoga class and that would be it for the day.  I might still do 1, 2 of those things, BUT, I am also stepping out of the box and adding something new!!  Very excited… I will let you know how it goes.

What are some ways you might step out of your box and live a little different?

About livingfrombalance

I am someone who strives daily for balance in her life. I believe in living a wholistic moderate way. I love eating well, yoga, good wine, books, laughing...the list goes on. I want to share with who ever will listen the knowledge I have collected thru the years my journey with balance!

One response »

  1. boy you are reading my mind lady!

    this is exactly the kind of thing I do (or try and remember to do)

    GOOD FOR YOU.

    My life is SUPER regimented so finding even small ways to make the day special and memorable is super important to me!

    Enjoy Nantucket!!!

Leave a Reply

