life is improv..

Standard


This morning while out running, I was thinking about how I always assume I know how my day will be right from the get go.  We all know, however, the chance of our day going exactly as planned is slim to none.  So many factors that we have no control over can change our day in a second.  Those of us with “control issues” struggle with this.  When what we expect gets sidelined, we can get irritable, upset, frustrated.  In my lightbulb moment this morning I realized it doesn’t have to be that way.

If we can look at life likes it’s a movie and we are improv actors it can be more of a game and a lot less stressful.  Think about it, You hear about a movie.  Even after seeing the previews, you don’t know how it is going to turn out or if you will think it is good or bad.  Until you actually see it, go thru it, you don’t know the whole story.  Only when its over can you deem it good or bad.

Life is similar.  We can get up in the morning and “think” we know what our day will be.  Whether it will be easy or stressful, fun or hard by what we have planned. Life, however, doesn’t always go as planned.  So instead of letting the twists and turns upset and frustrate us, we need to be like improv actors and handle the day as it comes.  I am actually being put thru this as I write this.  This morning on my run I was going thru my day and how I was worried about my first client as I felt intimidated by her and want her to like me.  I rush thru my morning routine to get to work early so I can be all set for when she arrives.  Guess what?  She completely forgot about her appointment.  So now I have 2 hours until my next person.  Normally, since this is NOT what I had anticipated this would have sent me into a tizzy.  I would have let this start the day on a down hill slide.  Today, since my “improv lightbulb”,  I am now given another way to see this situation.  I now see this as an opportunity to go run the errands I didn’t think I could fit in to the day.  I can go get a coffee, I could go home and walk my dog.  Ah! opportunity, not difficulty!

The only thing we have control over in life is US.  Our attitude, emotions, reactions.  Each moment we can choose to roll with comes our way as an improv actor would.  Plans fall thru, things change, people forget appointments.  Make it a game.  See how many times you can roll with the changes in life in a positive way.  Ask yourself if you can roll with the punch or resist it.  Life is so much easier when we go with the flow!

I am going to go with the flow right now, by running to the bank and grabbing a coffee!  I will actually be ahead of the game due to this change in my plan and my ability to roll with it!

Where can you play improv in your life?

About livingfrombalance

I am someone who strives daily for balance in her life. I believe in living a wholistic moderate way. I love eating well, yoga, good wine, books, laughing...the list goes on. I want to share with who ever will listen the knowledge I have collected thru the years my journey with balance!

2 responses »

    • A wise woman told me once “you are either in resistance or flow” Why would we choose resistance when it backs everything up and it doesn’t change a thing?
      A hard lesson to remember, but it always comes back to me!

Leave a Reply

