Give some credit where it’s due!

Standard

Enjoy your fruit!

Sometimes we get so busy doing all the tasks we need to do each day in our roles as women, partners, mothers, daughters, and workers, that we forget to collect our winnings. We put in all the groundwork – we clean, we cook, we work, we care for, we discipline – but we get so bogged down with these necessities that we neglect to grow.

We need to remember that our spiritual life requires us to stretch ourselves and reach out to claim our full potential. The actor Will Rogers once said, “Why not go out on a limb? That’s where the fruit is.” Think about that statement for a moment.

Often we spend much of our lives on groundwork. In planting terms, we dig, we sow, we water, we fertilize. Yet sometimes we forget the most important task. And that is to dust off our metaphorical ladders and reach out to collect the fruit of our labors.

Take time to go out on a limb today – and gather your well-deserved fruit.  Then.. most importantly ENJOY your fruit.. you have earned it.  Take time each day to relax, look back BASK in the knowledge of all you have accomplished and are accomplishing!  We are so busy moving on to the next thing we haven’t even fully embraced how far we have come!  This is the true fruit of our labor.  Giving self credit for the super clean eating we did this week, the fact that we didn’t lose our patience with whomever, that we let someone pass us in traffic.  These little things add up.. like the berries in the picture above.  Stop and savor each one and realize how overflowing your bowl really is!

 


About livingfrombalance

I am someone who strives daily for balance in her life. I believe in living a wholistic moderate way. I love eating well, yoga, good wine, books, laughing...the list goes on. I want to share with who ever will listen the knowledge I have collected thru the years my journey with balance!

3 responses »

  1. I actually really love doing this!

    it feels really good!!!!

    plus I used to live that life where I toiled and sacrificed and even my own needs weren’t met.

    those days are over!
    it’s all about balance right?
    Unhappy Mama equals unhappy house!

  2. Another great post. I have thought so many times why am I a working so hard (for whatever it is at that moment) if I never take the time to enjoy the results of my efforts. I am in a pretty unbalanced state at this moment, but through taking an hour or so a day to read and write, I am working toward a much healthier place for me and my family. Thank you for sharing your wisdom with us. Donna

Leave a Reply

