Gratitude..

Standard

I live in Vermont.  In the wake of devastation from Tropical storm Irene.  I admit it.  I didn’t believe the hype.  So many times there have been storms forecasted, that have turned out to be nothing.  I laughed in the face of this storm.  I (and others) laughed.. we live inland.  Not near the ocean, there is no way it will still be a hurricane by the time it gets here.  Well, we were right about that.   On Sunday it was a steady rain.  Nothing more as far as my eye could see.  No wind, just rain.  I laughed, I was right!! WRONG.

What I couldn’t see from my  house, but was happening all around me, literally a block away and more was evacuations and devastation.  The water in all these creeks, ponds and rivers that I don’t even notice was rising rapidly.  8 feet is the flood plain.. the water had risen to  .  Homes and buildings were being flooded, roads destroyed.  By the end of Sunday, the only way to leave this town I live in is to go North or West.  The roads heading east and south and literally gone in certain areas.  It is surreal.  People who live near the ski mountain Killington and in a small town Pittsfield cannot get out.  The road in any direction is wiped out at this time.  It could be months until they have this up and running.  Schools are delayed from opening today for another week due to sewage lines being broken and toxic water situations.

I feel tremendous gratitude for my life right now.   I never lost power.  I had minimal water in my basement.  Everyone I know and love is alive.  11 people died due the the raging water.  I think about how much “stuff” people lost in this storm and remember, it’s just “stuff” .  It can be replaced.  It might take awhile and cause discomfort, but it can be.  I am grateful to Irene as it made me realize how much I have and that it can be taken at any moment. She made me think about areas of the world that deal with this or worse all the time.  People who live with nothing.  She made me stop taking it all for granted.

SO my gratitude list for today:

my family is safe and sound

My home is unscathed.

I have clean water

electricity

food

a warm bed

my job

My girls do start school today (one of the only ones in a huge radius in the area!)

I have $ in the bank and food on my shelves.

my health

I CAN leave my town in my car if I chose to.  It will take longer due to having to go west or north, but I still CAN!

my ability to learn from this and have gratitude.

Stop and look around your life today.  Picture roads being gone and homes being flooded and take stock of all you have and sit in a moment of gratitude.  Send that healing energy to people who are suffering.  Any little bit helps!

About livingfrombalance

I am someone who strives daily for balance in her life. I believe in living a wholistic moderate way. I love eating well, yoga, good wine, books, laughing...the list goes on. I want to share with who ever will listen the knowledge I have collected thru the years my journey with balance!

One response »

  1. i love this post tiffany! thank you for updating us on what was going on in your neck of the woods. i am so glad you are safe and sound. i am so grateful to have a good job, a loving husband and friends like you in the most unlikely places. i know someday we will meet 🙂

Leave a Reply

