Happy Fall!

Standard

I don’t know about you, but fall signifies new beginnings for me.  It might have to do with my birthday being in September, or the return of cool weather which gives me more energy, but as summer fades away I find myself making new plans and goals for the year to come now.. not in January.

One of my biggest goals is embracing ACCEPTANCE.  I was listening to a meditation video the other day and she said “we need to have RADICAL ACCEPTANCE for everything that has been up till now.”  That really hit me.  I am always so busy looking at my flaws and how to fix them.  What if I just accepted everything that led me to this very moment AS… IT…. IS.  Not accepting it is just a wasted effort anyways.  Non-acceptance is to fight against that which is.. this is the creation of suffering.  If we can just stop and accept.  Then something in us can soften and we can change from there.  I recently wrote a post about how we are always committing to something all the time. (example being, I say I want to lose weight, yet I eat a cookie,,, I am really committing to keeping the weight on!)  If I give myself permission to accept my past up to the present, then I can let it go.  Now I am able to commit from here on out to observe myself with clarity and come from a place of softness and response instead of harshness and reactivity.

My next goal is to play more.   I think most adults are guilty of putting play time on the back burner for “once I finish….. then I can play” .  I am finally learning at 45 that my to do list will never be done.  It is more important to fit some play in there every day.. or at least a couple times a week.  This can be starting a dance class (african is calling to me right now), hula hooping.. or dancing in your kitchen with your dog!  How about skiing, sliding, or building sandcastles?  What calls to you and makes you put your to do list down for a bit?  I bet if you start this, when you pick your list back up you will find yourself refreshed and recharged!

My final goal ( don’t want to overwhelm myself!) stop censoring who I am.  A recent horoscope said “Your power to claim your birthright and fulfill your destiny will ultimately hinge to a significant degree on your ability to shed all random shame about your true nature.  The time is now to become less and less embarrassed about being more and more”.  I don’t know about you, but this has been me in a nutshell.  I censor who I let in and what I share depending on what I think the response might be.  This is exhausting and controlling!  I am tired and here is a place where I can reclaim some of my energy and personal power.  It might take baby steps to get me on this path, but I am ready and willing.

I think those are pretty good goals for now.  Come January, I will reevaluate and see where I am at.  How about you?  Do you set fall goals or resolutions?  If so what are they?   If not what are you waiting for?

About livingfrombalance

I am someone who strives daily for balance in her life. I believe in living a wholistic moderate way. I love eating well, yoga, good wine, books, laughing...the list goes on. I want to share with who ever will listen the knowledge I have collected thru the years my journey with balance!

One response »

  1. What a great post my friend! I love that you want to play more and just be who you are in the present. I need this reminders as well! And when my dear is your bday?

Leave a Reply

