a new take on gratitude

Standard

Recently  I started a yoga teacher training.  It is quite a financial, time and travel commitment for me.   I am also really putting myself out there as I have a HUGE fear of being in front of people (why would I want to teach you ask??? good question!)  We had to do that on day two.. teach to groups of 4.  I did it,, didn’t think much of it.  Or the fact that I cheorographed much to get to that place.  Or the fact that for 8+ years I have been a single mom, business owner and doing it on my own.  So busy focused on the next thing, or something I deemed needed fixing, I never stopped to just say “WOW, look at you girl!”

Monday, I was talking with my coach, telling her about the weekend and she said “did you stop and celebrate all you accomplished??”  I was like, “huh?”  In my mind, I was just beginning,, there was nothing to celebrate yet.  She then explained the value and importance of making “victory lists”.  At the end of the day, write down all your victories.  From walking an extra mile (or just one mile period) , to smiling at the grocery clerk who was rude, to standing up in front of 4 people to practice teaching.. they are all victories that we need to give ourselves credit for!  When we stop and do that it opens and expands our energy and sets the tone for the next day before you even close your eyes.  It also helps you really see all you DO accomplish in a day!

I had also recently found the page “the attitude of gratitude” on face book.  They have a similar take on this perspective.  They call it a “HOORAY” list.  “HOORAY, I drank 8 glasses of water today!” “Hooray, I stood in front of 4 people and taught and didn’t vomit while doing it!!”  “Hooray, so and so called me after weeks of no contact! ”  You get the picture.  It’s a little different than a gratitude list, which has you write everything that is good in your life.  I think this is a more active way of searching out all that is going your way everyday..and where your role in it is.

My “HOORAY” list from this weekend:

hooray!  I made it safely and on time to my YTT

Hooray!  I taught various groups of 4 and didn’t throw up, stumble or blank out!

Hooray!  I made really healthy eating choices the whole weekend!

Hooray!  I have the best boyfriend who helped with my girls, house and dog so I could make this happen!

Hooray!  My parents provided me with delicious dinner and warm bed!

Hooray!  I met some really cool people by putting myself out there!

what’s on your “hooray” or victory list today??? What are the small things you don’t even realize you are doing that add up to a huge victory day??? Try writing these things down for a week and let me know if you notice any shifts!

“HOORAY”!!!  I wrote another blog post by 8 a.m. today!!:)

About livingfrombalance

I am someone who strives daily for balance in her life. I believe in living a wholistic moderate way. I love eating well, yoga, good wine, books, laughing...the list goes on. I want to share with who ever will listen the knowledge I have collected thru the years my journey with balance!

One response »

Leave a Reply

