massaged kale salad with quinoa and roasted squash

Standard

Last night I was craving 3 things.  Kale, quinoa and roasted squash.  I scoured the internet for the perfect recipe which I couldn’t find.  I decided to take matters into my own hands and combine a couple to make my own!

1 bunch of Kale  stems cut off and sliced into thin strips

1 lemon

1 cup quinoa cooked

1 butternut squash cut into cubes and roasted

3 artichoke heart, chopped

1/2 cup lowfat feta cheese, crumbled

grape tomato

1/3 c. diced red onion

dressing:

Extra virgin olive oil

balsamic vinegar

seasonings of choice

s/p

cook the quinoa as directed.  Put cubed squash on baking sheet roast at 400 to your liking.  (I like over cooked and brown!)

Take the lemon and squeeze over the kale.  Drizzle a bit of evoo.  Massage it for a good 5 min.  Really work it with your hands until it starts to break down and become wilted.

Add all the ingredients to the bowl with the kale in it.  Mix tot combine.  Whisk the dressing together pour over the salad.  I like to top it with nutritional yeast for added flavor and benefit!  SOOOOO goooood!

About livingfrombalance

I am someone who strives daily for balance in her life. I believe in living a wholistic moderate way. I love eating well, yoga, good wine, books, laughing...the list goes on. I want to share with who ever will listen the knowledge I have collected thru the years my journey with balance!

Leave a Reply

