Joie de Vivre!

Standard

My boyfriend is busy living in California right now.   That sounds all fine, except, I live on the other coast… in Vermont.  This is not an easy commute for a long distance relationship.  The nearest airport to the town I live in is 1.5 hours.. so that must be added to any travel time.. but usually for a trip such as to California you want to leave from Boston.. which is 3 hours away.. no small feat I can assure you!  This has made me cranky.

SO, needless to say, I have been on a roller coaster of emotions since he moved there in February.   One of self pity, sadness, aloneness, anger, then one  of independence, not needing this, I going to get another dog cuz I don’t need a man, then .. finally,,, surrender, to what is.   The simple fact is that I love him.  This is where our relationship is at the moment.  It is not forever.  Who knows what tomorrow will bring right?    I was talking with him the other day and he told me he was painting a sign for the home owner that said: “Joie de Vivre”.  I had hear that before, but wasn’t sure what it meant.. so when we hung up I looked it up on line.. the definition was eye opening to me to say the least!

Joie de Vivre: to have a joy of life, or joy of living,  Joy of conversation, joy of anything one might do!  Joy of EVERYTHING!.  A comprehensive joy- a philosophy of life, that involves one’s whole being…. WOW!

After reading that I thought.. “what if I can turn around all my “woe’s me” and find the joy in everything I do?  So really Joie de Vivre means to be present in the moment.. fully… to embrace what is in front of you at all times.. I took that attitude with me to work that morning and it was nothing less than amazing!  I realized that I have been waiting for life to calm down so I can relax , have fun, and live it.   It dawned on me that this IS my life.. all this crazy busy ness.  This gives me two choices.  To keep handling it the way I have,, begrudgingly wading thru it all, trying to get to the “calm point” so I can finally “be”  OR try a new route one that has me  “BE” in it.. roll up my sleeves and get right in it.  Greet the day with all the craziness, people and situations with a comprehensive JOY .  Have that be my philosophy of life.  Instead of sitting in Vermont waiting for him to come back, or the week to slow down, or for everyone to act the way I think they should,  accept this as how things are right now and fully engage in the moments alone or together as they are,,, make the most of all of it!  It is such a refreshing way to be.. really , it is a surrender.  When you stop fighting and let go, you can fully embrace and go with the flow.  This is where the joy lies.. this is where Joie de Vivre can take over..

As the saying goes… “life is what happens when you are busy making other plans…”

About livingfrombalance

I am someone who strives daily for balance in her life. I believe in living a wholistic moderate way. I love eating well, yoga, good wine, books, laughing...the list goes on. I want to share with who ever will listen the knowledge I have collected thru the years my journey with balance!

4 responses »

  1. i love this post tiffany! so true that we must treasure the here and now rather than wait for it all to be perfect. i need to really keep this in mind. can’t wait to see you!

  2. This is so true! I am a native Californian who happens to be living in NJ (we moved 2 years ago). Although my immediate family is with me, I left a sister and nephew behind who we really miss. I get sad still when I think too much about it. Your Joie de Vivre attitude is what will get you though (and I could use a dose of it too…)!

    • Thanks stacie! This is new for me, so I am sure I will slip, but as long as I remember to come back to it!
      It’s nice to know there are others out there in similar situations!
      Thanks for writing!!

Leave a Reply

