wake up call…

Standard

It started on Tuesday with an innocent craving for homemade chocolate chip cookies.  I love them so much.  Usually have them in the freezer and all I need is to be able to break off a piece of one to quell the craving daily.  However we had run out.. and it had been days.. SO I begged, hinted and prodded my daughter into making these while I was at work:

(these aren’t the exact ones, but they looked just like this!!).  I walked in hungry and craving and there they were warm still on the counter.  Normally in a situation such as this I can eat half of one and be done.. but it was the perfect storm and I ended up eating two.. big cookies.  I NEVER do that,, but it was good.

Wednesday, I ate another whole one.. THursday not so bad, but then on Friday I met a girlfriend for wine and a bite to eat at a local italian restaurant

The plan was to eat salad and a veggie based dinner.. Unfortunately, I made that be a pizza.. delicious dough.. but not so good for my thighs.

To round off this disaster of eating week, my clients daughter is selling cupcakes at the farmer’s market Saturday.  I couldnt’ go, but I asked my client to bring me 4.. 3 red velvet and 1 vanilla with chocolate frosting.  She happily obliged and within 10 minutes of having them in my sweaty mitts I had eaten half of one red velvet…That wouldn’t be so bad except later that day (yesterday)  I went to a birthday party for my girlfriend.  There I drank 4 draft beers.. ( I never drink beer!! WINE only!)  and consumed not 1 but TWO LARGE peices of the best cheese cake I have ever had!!!  WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON?????

This morning I woke with a wee bit of a hangover and a wake up call!  I have been on some sort of sick carbolicious train ride this past week and its time to get off!    I have maintained a 10lb weight loss for almost a year now and that won’t be the case if I keep making this ridiculous decisions.

SO with my wake up call I also realized how lame my workouts had become.  I “run” every day.. but really that involves a lot of walking as well.  I love my yoga.. but due to where I live I don’t have access to the super intense style I like, so the level of intensity is not where I would like it.  Basically I feel like I do enough to “get by”,, or “maintain”  where I am at.  That shit stops here with the carbolicious train ride.

Five weeks from tomorrow I turn 46 years old.  I don’t want to be just getting by.. I want to be strong and lean.  I want to go into the latter half of my 40’s confident and energetic.  So starting today… my goals for the next five weeks:

~Increase the level of intensity of my run/walks.. either longer or more intense

~2-3 times a week add some sort of weight routine or kickbox dvd for added cardio

~Push self deeper in each yoga practice..

~No more empty carbs!!! Okay.. I know myself here,, I cannot quit cold turkey.. so I can have 1/2 of a chocolate chip cookie daily or 2 hershey kisses.  besides that no bread (except ezekiel), no white flour and or sugar.. done!

~with the above mentioned comes super clean eats.  I am going to scour the internet for delicious easy vegan type recipes.. so many good choices out there!! Love this girl!  Angela is her name and her site ROCKS.

~wine… once a week.  I can have 2 glasses.  THAT IS IT!  (this has become a nightly habit that is really not necessary!!)

To keep myself accountable, I am planning on posting here my workouts and food journal.. daily.. (hopefully:))

wish me luck people!!

About livingfrombalance

I am someone who strives daily for balance in her life. I believe in living a wholistic moderate way. I love eating well, yoga, good wine, books, laughing...the list goes on. I want to share with who ever will listen the knowledge I have collected thru the years my journey with balance!

6 responses »

  1. oh i am so excited for you! you are human and once that carb train starts it is hard to get off! i for one could NEVER eat just half a warm chocolate chip cookie…..do think you can is amazing! can’t wait to hear how your next 5 weeks go!

  2. I’ll be cheering for you! I’d have trouble limiting wine to 2 glasses per week, although that’s in part b/c my husband comes home and opens something good nearly every night. I am going to try to only have once glass per night during the week and argue that it’s good for my heart!

    • Stacie.. wine is so hard because I know I can make 2 glasses be one! haha.. thats why I am better off with none most days.. I don’t like when its more a habit that a joy you know?
      thanks for cheering me on!!

  3. Tiffany- You inspire me !! It is so hard to have that little extra bit of willpower to overcome these carb-sugar cravings- Thank YOU !

Leave a Reply

