and then life gets in the way!

Standard

It has been a crazy couple of weeks.. I have had bats in my house the last 2 weekends, my mother in town, and preseason for field hockey started.. did I mention that is at 6 a.m?  These 3 above mentioned events have reeked havoc on my sleep.  Between being convinced there are bats in my room, my mom sleeping in my bed with me (that’s a whole other post!) and my girls up at 5 for preseason.. I have had little to no sleep and ZERO space or time for myself.  I now realize just how much I CRAVE that.

Life hands us so much all the time.  It just keeps picking up momentum with technology and its constant advancements.  So it’s important to carve out moments in your day where you can just “be”.  Be quiet, be still, be you, by yourself and with yourself.

Whether you just put your feet up and close your eyes for 5 min., or you set aside 5-20 min daily for meditation, taking that time to go inside and get quiet is SO important.  THere is study after study verifying that this is key to a balanced, long and healthy life.  Today was the first morning in almost two weeks I was able to meditate at my usual time.  I didn’t realize just how much I missed it.  Today is also a day where the only thing I have to do is get a massage and have lunch with friends.  Part of me feels like I should cram a few errands in, but I am not letting that happen today.  I have decided that I need this day to be about connection with friends, and healing quiet.  No errands, no shoulds, or to do’s.  I got quiet this morning and listened to what I need.  This is what I heard.   I am listening.  Are you?

Try for the next 30 days.. start with 5 min.  at a time where you think you could do it everyday.  Sit in a comfortable seat.  Settle in and down.  Take a deep slow breath thru your nose.. then slowly let it out of your mouth.  Do that two more times.  Then just follow the gentle rhythm of your breath thru you nose for the 5 or how many minutes.  If you catch yourself off on a thought tangent, just gently bring your attention back to your breath.  Sometimes it helps to engage your whisper muscle in the back of your throat ( it will make that ocean sound in your head).  This will kind of drown out the incessant thoughts in your mind.

Let me know how you do!

 

 

About livingfrombalance

I am someone who strives daily for balance in her life. I believe in living a wholistic moderate way. I love eating well, yoga, good wine, books, laughing...the list goes on. I want to share with who ever will listen the knowledge I have collected thru the years my journey with balance!

6 responses »

  1. It sounds wonderful to just take 5 minutes and meditate, or just sit and be quiet. I always say that my time at the computer is “me” time, but it really isn’t. I’m always reading blogs and commenting, or writing emails, or researching things. I need to step away from the computer!

    • the computer.. that is a love hate thing for sure! it is great for so much healthy living information.. but are we really living while sitting in front of it for hours?
      Take 5 min in morning and afternoon.. to “unplug” you brain and your eyes.. just listen to your breath.. then go back to whatever and see if you notice a difference!

Leave a Reply

