release expectations

Standard

I just came back from a weekend I had been long anticipating.  Those of you that know me know I LOVE Yoga.  I especially love Baptiste power yoga.  It is what I became trained in .  It is a 90 min. heated flow.  I found this style 2 years ago and haven’t looked back.   Being someone who has NEVER done well in the heat it is surprising that I would gravitate towards this style of yoga.. but I tell you it literally does something to me on an internal level.  Unfortunately, it is not offered anywhere near  where I live.  I am constantly seeking it out.  If I go on a trip, I spend a lot of time on line trying to find it, or the next best thing.

So back to this weekend.  I went to Kripalu.  It is a huge yoga, healthy living organization in western Massachusetts.  Gorgeous setting, AMAZING food, and the best of the best teachers.  This was my 6th visit.  Some have been great, others not so much.  Not due to the place itself.. the teachers, and my expectations.  This weekend was the perfect example.  I had heard of this world renowned teacher.  She has been teaching for 30 years and was the teacher to one of my other favorite “yogaleberties”.  Originally she was trained in Astanga yoga.  This is a very vigorous, challenging style.  Usually warm and alot of movement.  It has been dubbed “yoga for athletes”, or “type A’s”..not sure I am the former,, probably more the latter.. so I figured she would be great for me.. lots of movement and sweat.. twisting all my cares right out of me and laying them on my mat to be wiped up and left on the floor.  There was no doubt that she would deliver what I expected… boy was I wrong.

Apparently she is ALSO very well versed in Iyengar yoga.  This  is a much more alignment based yoga.  One in which you do not “flow” (meaning lots of vinyasa’s in between poses).  Oh no.  You work on internally stretching your arm bones in opposite directions, or sucking you hip bones into the sockets, rotating the inner thigh out and the outer upper arm towards your nose while arms are stretched upwards…  This is NOT what I like or was looking for.  This was alot of intricate and static postures.  2-3 hours at a time.. no.. flow… Now the old me would have become extremely frustrated and let it ruin my whole weekend.  The new me however was able to step back and think.. okay..this is definitely NOT what I want.. but maybe it is what I need?  When I was able to step back and say : “there is something I need here.. let it enter”.  I was able to soften around the fact that this wasn’t what I was looking for.  I would catch myself getting aggravated, which creates tension and hardness.. and I would breath and say : “okay.. what is good about this weekend?”.  Then I would see, the great people, amazing food, old friends I ran into, the depth of the work she was passing along, and I would actually soften, and be okay with what is was, even if it wasn’t what I wanted.  I realized that I do this a lot in life.. I expect a day to be a certain way.  All my appointments will show up at the time expected and everything will go as planned.. HELLO?  that is why the appts are written in pencil!  Things change in an instant.  The last two weeks have taught me that.

Basically what I am trying to say is.. its good to have dreams, plans, even expectations,, but its also good to be not so rigidly attached to those, so when they don’t go your way you can soften, melt and mold to what ever is showing up in the moment and save yourself so much needless suffering. We have NO idea how a day is going to turn out.. even if we have ever minute scheduled in our books.. (That’s why we do it in pencil!!) .  So while it is good to have a plan, it’s also good to not be so attached and to be open to whatever shows up so you can go with the flow and learn whatever lesson is being presented to you at that moment.

With gratitude towards my teacher this weekend, and everyone reading this.

About livingfrombalance

I am someone who strives daily for balance in her life. I believe in living a wholistic moderate way. I love eating well, yoga, good wine, books, laughing...the list goes on. I want to share with who ever will listen the knowledge I have collected thru the years my journey with balance!

4 responses »

  1. I love how you turned this around into a good (unexpected) experience! I still have this fantasy weekend of coaxing you to give me a cut and blowout and then I’ll treat you to a night in NYC, ok?
    I don’t know my way around but never mind the details..

  2. Stumbled upon your site through Kalli, and I’m excited to read your posts! I love Yoga myself. I naturally gravitate towards a “Flow Style”, but I’m also a Physical Therapist so I believe in a lot of the foundational principles of Iyengar. So I just take my practice day by day, and teacher by teacher. Seems to work for now ;).

    • So glad to have you here!! I agree that foundation is important. Unfortunately where I live there is not a lot of “live” yoga that works for me so when I go away I search out the style that I like.. so this didn’t turn out the way I wanted.. but as I said, maybe it was what I needed at the time?? thanks for writing and I can’t wait to check out your blog!!

Leave a Reply

