A is for awesome

Standard

I know, I have been an absentee blogger.  Life gets in the way and then wham another month has gone by with no posts!   Then add to that emotional roller coaster with your relationship, kids, teaching yoga and a house to run, well, you know the drill.

LIfe these days has become so easy to keep in the hectic mode, that we literally have to make down time.  Or schedule time off.  Lately, I have made it a priority to not over book myself.  To have time to rest, hike, read.  It is really paying off.  I have stopped being miserable.  I have also found a teacher,  Tara Brach.

 

She is a buddhist meditation teacher.  She has TONS of podcasts available to listen to and they are all free.  Usually about an hour long they just help to shift your thought patterns.  Some are about cultivating joy, equanimity, beyond the prison of beliefs etc.  She has a great way of delivering the message, sprinkling it with funny stories and leaving you feeling so much better.  I highly recommend her for anyone who has the time to savor what she has to say.  Here is a link to a 20 minute guided meditation with her.

http://imcw.org/Talks/TalkDetail/TalkID/454.aspx

Another thing I have been doing is drinking LOTS of water.  So good for flushing out the system, revitalizing you, clearing your head, filling your stomach.  Eating warm foods as well.  This is especially good this time of year as it gets colder and the days are shorter.  It nourishes your soul.  My new favorite after being on an ayurvedic retreat is kitchari!

It is like a rice porridge, made with basmati rice, mung dahl, spices, ghee, coconut milk, variety of vegetables.  So nourishing and delicious!

Last, but definitely not least.. SLEEP.  I am prioritizing sleep, and going to bed in the right frame of mind to sleep well.  Little to no alcohol that might mess with the quality.  Emptying my mind of worries that can disrupt it.  Ready to restore and rest up for the next day!

What do you do to help you pause and be happy??

 

 

 

About livingfrombalance

I am someone who strives daily for balance in her life. I believe in living a wholistic moderate way. I love eating well, yoga, good wine, books, laughing...the list goes on. I want to share with who ever will listen the knowledge I have collected thru the years my journey with balance!

2 responses »

  1. oh i love this post! i am so glad you are taking care of yourself! first day off i run around like a crzy person doing things i have not had time to do while working my ass off LOL. so reading this post today was a god send 🙂 it is so important to make time for ourselves or we will go crazy. i think running is part of my me time but i have also started to do some yoga moves, meditate, and just be in the moment. thanks my friend! i miss you!

Leave a Reply

