I is for intention

Standard

 

 

 

This is  a good week for the word intention!  With people regretting the choices they made over thanksgiving and heading towards Christmas, maybe it is time to sit, get still and think about what your intentions are each day.

A woman I will probably never meet, but I call my mentor, Tara Brach, has great talks which I listen to regularly on podcast.  Yesterday I listened to one called “Wise Intention”.  In it she states: “Intention; is the mental and emotional energy going towards a certain out come.  Where intention goes energy flows.”  I love this.  Having an intention is brought up usually at the beginning of a yoga class.  What is your intention for this class?  What do you hope to get out of it to bring in to your day?  This is such a great way to start every day yoga or not!

So sit with that question for  a bit today.  See what your body’s wisdom tells you.  Tara says that you need to give your body some time to get quiet to hear the intention that is deep with in.  You will know when you hear it because it will come from your body, not your mind.  What is your intention?  Then, the most important part of working with intention is to keep coming back to it.  It’s not enough to figure one out when you first get up and not think on it again.  You have to keep coming back to it otherwise you forget and another day slips by where there wasn’t the presence to honor your good intentions from the morning.

What is your intention for today?  What is the thing that can anchor you to something positive a goal for your day?  To be more kind?  To drink 8 glasses of water?  To only eat fresh foods?  Mine yesterday was to roll with the waves however big they may be.  Luckily my humor post stuck with me so I made sure to look for the humor in the day.  When two color appointments in a row failed to show up.. it got difficult to find it funny.. but I came back to my intention.  No I didn’t laugh, but I was able to not get tight and constricted around it. Knowing it is a part of life and I rolled with it a lot lighter than I might have last week!

A helpful way to remember your intention is to write it down or a symbolic word somewhere so when you see it you are reminded.

What is your intention today?  I hope you find it and are reminded of it through out your day.  Make it a good one!

About livingfrombalance

I am someone who strives daily for balance in her life. I believe in living a wholistic moderate way. I love eating well, yoga, good wine, books, laughing...the list goes on. I want to share with who ever will listen the knowledge I have collected thru the years my journey with balance!

One response »

Leave a Reply

